WooHoo! I’m Bloggin’!

By ryantconaty

January 12, 2009

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

WooHoo! Check me out.  I’m Bloggin’! It’s a brown blog but whatever, that’ll change.

Anyway first things first: Scott Strazzante,  I have decided to use the same wordpress template as you.  I apologize if that’s poor form but (#1) I’d be astonished (and flattered) if anyone confused us and (#2) it’s just so darn cool looking. With the color change thing… come on.

Anyway, let’s get down to the business of blogging here.  Above is a picture of Karin Sprague.  Karin hand-carves gravestones and she totally made my day last week.  I had to drive out to North Scituate to her studio which is about 45 minutes away (that’s a big deal for a Rhode Islander).   Google Maps sent me down a road that no longer exists. I was late.  I hate being late.  I pride myself on my punctuality (and my parallel-parking) and I blamed Google.

So,  long story short I was all bent out of shape when I got there.

As a rule I’d say that most of my job is just relaxing people to the point where I can get an honest picture of them, but Karin turned to tables on me. She made me some tea.  We sat down and talked about art and carving and pictures.  She was super-cool and if  you think the picture of her is any good (which I tend to think) she deserves all the credit.

Give her a call if you need a gravestones.

On a technical note, I need to give props to a very talented and able photojournalist, Christine Hochkeppel.  She called me out on constantly “dutching” my pictures and now that I review my stuff from last week… Christine was right.  I will try to be better about that.

In this particular instance though, if this is wrong I don’t want to be right.

RTC

Leave a Reply

