The Replacement Drillers

I found myself on the assembly floor of American Power Conversion (by Schneider Electric) today. I was invited in to do some shooting for an upcoming story about trade that one of my papers is working on.

Let me just say, I don’t spend too much time in factory settings but today was a little more subdued than I would’ve expected.

Anyway,  towards the end , I’m gathering my caption info: spell your name. What’s this thing you’re working on called? … How long have you worked here?

“It would have been 20 years in October”

Come to find out, everyone is being shown the door in a couple weeks. Well, jeez, that brought me right down.

 

This is a picture of Carla Jordan training her replacement from the Pennsylvania plant, Paul Harris (don’t get me wrong, a good guy, not his fault.)

So, Carla, you’ve been on my mind all day. It takes a tough gal with more than a little class to stick around and teach someone how to do her job and it takes an even tougher, classier gal to have her picture taken while they’re doing it. Don’t think I didn’t notice.

Good luck and if I could give you any advice about future employment it would be: don’t pick up a camera.

 

-RTC

Leave a Reply

