USCG HH-65

I just want to take a second to talk about the HH-65 Dolphin. I was looking over that last post and I decided (because all aircraft are totally sweet and this one especially reminds me of the Dukes of Hazard) I’d be doing you a disservice by only putting a single picture of the chopper up on the blog. Many thanks to the pilot for the tour, a man I met when we were both 2 and yes, he was already a man… Brian “Charcoal”, “Frenchy”, “Turbo-shaft” Breguet.

General characteristics

  • Crew: 2 pilots and 2 crew
  • Length: 44 ft 5 in (13.5 m)
  • Rotor diameter: 39 ft 2 in (11.9 m)
  • Height: 13 ft 6 in (4.1 m)
  • Empty weight: 6,092 lb (2,760 kg)
  • Max takeoff weight: 9,480 lb (4,300 kg)
  • Powerplant: 2× Turbomeca Arriel 2C2-CG turboshaft, 934 shp (697 kW) each

Performance

-RTC

One Response to “USCG HH-65”

  1. Love the photos, Ryan! I’d been checking to see when I’d make it onto RIography…

Leave a Reply

