Freedom isn’t free

When Meg asked me what I wanted for Christmas I said I wanted forth of July to do with what I pleased. No running around from one party to the next parade. No putting in time with folks.

My Indepenence day could not have been more opposite. I had a fantasticaly busy day working for the Herald. First a ship ran aground then I had to get beach features then there was a 4 bell fire in West Roxbury. I was kidding with one of the TV news guys, “Hey what else would we be doing today right?”

‘Drinking…we’d be drinking.’

A sober reply. And maybe he was right. I didn’t get to sit in a folding chair with a sweaty bottle in my hand.

But I didn’t crash a boat and my house didn’t burn down so I’m not complaining. Happy birthday America.

-RTC

Leave a Reply

