Flash photography

I am such a sucker for this kind of thing.

Did I ever tell you that I trained to be a machinist for a few years before I discovered the camera? That’s a whole ‘nother discussion but sufficed to say I feel very comfortable in the shop. When one of my papers asked me to visit the Local 51 pipefitter’s union hall last week I was happy to go. The story was actually about the college credit classes they offer their apprentices  (which I made fine pictures of in the computer lab) but I stuck around a little longer than I needed to when I saw the sparks flying.

Not only does all the flashing and smoke help make dramatic images but because of the intense light you need to either shoot through the protective yellow curtains or with your eyes shut. You can imagine that for a photographer this is a challenge.

which I dig.

-RTC

Leave a Reply

