Graduate School of Oceanography

So I get this assignment that says the U.R.I. G.S.O. is turning 50 and, for one of the stories PBN is doing next week, I should head down there at take a picture of a scientist by the name of Al Hanson who is the president of Sub Chem Inc. Now I’m Rhode Island born and I’m Rhode Island bread and when I die I’ll be Rhode Island dead so naturally I said yes to the job. Scientist Al was completely accommodating and careful to correct me every time I refered to his cylindrical underwater chemical sniffing robot as ‘the torpedo’. It is not a torpedo…. and no it wouldn’t be better if there were a scary face painted on the front says Al.

Oh well, I guess that’s why some of us are scientists and some of us are wise cracking news photographers.

Thanks Al.

As long as I have you here I want to mention this too. I’d never been to the G.S.O. so I decided to take a stroll around and see what kind of trouble I could get into. I didn’t get into any but I did discover the U.R.I. Foundation Boat yard. Evidently people donate their boats the the university and after they’re spruced up a little they are sold and the crew and sailing teams get a few bucks. This is what the guy on duty told me anyway. Check it out and maybe you can talk one of your buddies into buying a the best kind of boat… your friend’s boat.

-RTC 

Leave a Reply

